Click an Award title to learn more!

Lifetime Achievement Award (2017 Updated!)

Contribution to Knowledge Award  (2017 Updated!)

Contribution to Higher Education Award  (2017 Updated!)

Esther Lloyd-Jones Professional Service Award  (2017 Updated!)

Excellence in Practice Award  (2017 Updated!)

Marylu McEwen Dissertation of the Year  (2017 Updated!)

ACPA Collaborative Excellence Award  (2017 Updated!)

Presidential Citation Award

Voice of Inclusion Medallions - Program and Individual  (2017 Updated!)

Senior Student Affairs Practitioner Program Award

Emerging and Senior Scholars Awards  (2017 Updated!)

Annuit Coeptis Emerging and Senior Professionals Awards  (2017 Updated!)

Champion of Sustainability Award  (2017 Updated!)

Overall Commission Awards

Overall State Chapter & International Division Awards

Overall Coalition Awards

Individual CommissionCoalition, and Community of Practice Awards

General Nomination Process

You may nominate yourself or another individual for any of the above awards. Awards have different coordinators, so please read the descriptions carefully. Nomination letters should include an outline of the person or group's contributions based on the criteria for the award and may be accompanied by additional letters of support from other individuals. Nominees may be contacted for additional information should the selection committee need it.

In addition to this general nomination process, a Nominating Committee, comprised of a broad representation of previous award winners and leaders within the association, will generate a list of nominations for the first five award categories listed below. The association's Awards Selection Committee will consider nominations from both the general process and nominating committee.

Entity leaders (Commissions, Coalition, Communities of Practice, State Division and International Division chairs and presidents) may request recognition certificates by completing the Certificate Request Form

Past Award Recipients

Congratulations to all 2016 Award winners! Photos from the awards ceremony may be viewed here.[1] 

Association-Wide Commission Awards

Commission awards will be awarded in the following categories: Excellent Contribution to ACPA Strategic Priorities, Excellence in Research and Scholarship, Excellence in Programming and Professional Development, Excellence in Innovation, Distinguished Commission Directorate Member, and Distinguished Commission Chair. In addition, the Overall Distinguished Commission  Award is granted to the Commission that demonstrates, through its breadth of achievements, outstanding contributions toward meeting one or more of the strategic planning goals of the Association.

Deadline: November 18, 2016  Contact Amy Franklin-Craft (Assembly Coordinator for Commissions) at for more information or to submit a nomination.

Association-Wide State and International Division Awards

These awards include: Outstanding State & International Division Award; Outstanding State & International Division Leader Award; Outstanding State & International Division Award for Innovation; and Outstanding State & International Division Award for Membership Recruitment & Retention.

Deadline: November 18, 2016   Contact Jason Cotrell at for more information or to submit a nomination.

Association-Wide Coalition Awards

The ACPA Coalition Advocate Award is presented to individuals who exemplify the values and advocate on behalf of the Coalitions of ACPA. Individuals should demonstrate a significant commitment to social justice through either their involvement in Coalition activities or in representing and advancing Coalition values and concerns. One does not need to be a leader within a Coalition to receive this award. This award is intended to recognize sustained and lengthy service and/or advocacy.

Deadline: November 18, 2016. Contact Jennifer Ferrell at for more information or to submit a nomination. Find out more information here.


If you have any questions about the awards information or awards program, please contact ACPA Awards Committee Chairs, Eddie Wright (entity awards), and Lee Hawthorne (major awards).