This award recognizes someone who has advanced a broad higher education agenda through work at the institutional, regional, and national levels. The recipient may be someone who has worked beyond the association to contribute to the higher education landscape and has, in a meaningful way, enhanced the work done on college campuses and with college students. The recipient of this award can be (but is not limited to) a college president, another association leader, someone from the corporate world, or a political leader. 

Required documentation:

  • Letter of nomination that articulates how the individual/organization meets the criteria for the award and includes the nominee's name, email address, and telephone number

  • A minimum of three supporting letters from leaders addressing how the nominee has made significant contributions to higher education

  • The nominee’s resume or curriculum vita (if an individual)


Nomination Information:

You may nominate yourself or another individual. To nominate someone, send the required information by November 17, 2017 to the Major Awards Coordinator, Lee Hawthorne (

OSU Center for Higher Education

Current Winners

Center for Higher Education Enterprise (CHEE) Terrell Strayhorn

Past Winners


  • Gregory Roberts


  • Jeffrey F. Milem


  • John R. Broderick


  • Carol Geary Schneider


  • George Kuh


  • Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS)


  • David Ward


  • Debra Rowe


  • Marvalene Hughes


  • Clara M. Lovett