2011 Recipients

Outstanding Social Justice Collaboration:
This award recognizes outstanding collaborative efforts between campus and community groups/offices/organizations, or committees/commissions of ACPA and/or other national associations. This award recognizes creative initiative taking in a collaborative partnership that addresses an issue of social justice on their campus or in their community, in a progressive and positive manner.

Growing Allies, The University of Michigan

Exemplary Social Justice Contribution by a Graduate Student:
This award honors a full-time graduate student that has demonstrated leadership and activism in the area of social justice on campus; and has role modeled the qualities of a positive change agent in their community.

Krystal Dains, Kent State University

Innovative Response, Social Justice:
This award recognizes innovative educational, developmental or social action response to an issue of social justice on campus, and/or in the community at a local and global level. This award is intended to recognize recent events which have been implemented within the 12 months prior to convention (usually April-March).

Dawn Snyder, Victor Santana-Melgoza, and Willie Morgan, Oregon State University

Outstanding Social Justice Educator, Trainer, or Mentor:
This award recognizes an individual who is personally committed to social justice education and/or activism and is an outstanding educator, trainer or mentor to other professionals or students in the area of social activism. This award is different than the Voices of Inclusion Medallion which is given by the larger umbrella of ACPA and recognizes folks who have shown leadership over five years on broader initiatives of diversity and multiculturalism on their campuses.

Kris Bergbom, Assistant Director of Student Programs, Mount Holyoke College

Commitment to Social Justice Education:
This award honors a department, campus, ACPA committee or commission that has shown a commitment to social justice education and development, training, or programming.

Stephani Bondi, Iowa State University