The Awards Nomination Process has ended for 2019-2020!

The Annuit Coeptis Award honors three senior professionals at a dinner where there can be wide-ranging discussion and exchange about professional issues. These awards were created by ACPA (College Student Educators International) to celebrate the lives of Philip A. Tripp, Ursula Delworth, and Cynthia Johnson who dearly loved to challenge their contemporary and junior colleagues in a spirit of personal and professional sharing, good humor, and intellectual debate. The Latin phrase annuit coeptis reflects Professor Tripp's optimism for the future by suggesting that “He has smiled upon that which we have begun.” Started in 1979, this annual award honors up to three senior professionals and up to five emerging professionals at a dinner where they can engage in lively and thoughtful discussions

Award Criteria for Senior Professionals

  1.  Evidence of contributions to the field of student affairs with regard to: (a) administrative service or teaching; (b) research and publication; (c) professional association service; and (d) demonstrated leadership.
  2. Evidence of Phil Tripp’s commitment to mentoring and encouraging young student affairs professionals.

If you have any questions, please write to Tony Cawthon at [email protected]

Nomination Instructions

To nominate a colleague for the Senior Professional Award, please submit the nominee's current resume and at least one nomination letter explaining how the person meets the criteria listed below. Nominating materials must be received no later than 1 November 2019. Please send all nominating materials by email attachment to Tony Cawthon at [email protected].  If you do not receive an acknowledgement of the receipt of your nomination within 48 hours, please send a follow up email requesting verification.

Recipients must plan to attend the 2020 ACPA Annual Convention in Nashville, TN (March 2-5, 2020) and be available to share dinner with the other award recipients (traditionally on the second evening of the conference). Anyone who is nominated but unable to attend the conference and dinner may be considered for nomination in 2021.

2019 Recipients

R. Bradley Johnson, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Katie Branch, University of Rhode Island