ACPA implemented its Senior Scholars Program in 1984. ACPA Senior Scholars advocate for the integration of scholarship into the practice of student affairs. Senior Scholars, through the creation of an engaged scholar network, keep abreast of promising work and identify critical issues that could benefit from inquiry and attention. The Senior Scholars Program provides scholars with a continuing opportunity to promote scholarship through the presentation of programs of interest to the profession at each national convention and to serve the association on projects related to their fields of interest.

ACPA Senior Scholars represent the best of engaged scholarship relevant to student affairs work in higher education. Nominees are senior members of the profession (e.g., generally full professors or senior student affairs officers) who have made exemplary and sustained contributions to ACPA’s mission of generating and disseminating knowledge and who have the commitment to further advance research and theory. A maximum of twelve Senior Scholars can hold active membership. Senior Scholars must be or become members of ACPA. Senior Scholars serve terms of five years, spanning six ACPA national conventions, and must attend at least four ACPA national conventions during their terms and be active participants in the work of the Senior Scholars.

Nomination Instructions

Nominees will be invited to apply for consideration by submitting the following materials: a current CV and short statement addressing each of the following questions. The response to each question should be no more than 250 words.

  1. How will being a part of Senior Scholars contribute to your scholarly and professional development?
  2. How do your professional and scholarly experiences contribute to the goals of Senior Scholars? 
3. What role would you like to see the Senior Scholars play for the association and the field of student affairs?

Nominations must be submitted no later than 30 September 2019. Additional information on how to submit a nomination will be available soon!


2019 Senior Scholars

Dawn R. Johnson, Syracuse University

John A. Mueller, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Penny A. Pasque, North Carolina State University