Congratulations to our 2020 Award Winner, Liana Natochy!

Every year, the RAWC uses our annual awards as a way to recognize and appreciate the exemplary work in the field of recreation, athletics, and wellness. Below are the names of individuals who are excited to recognize for the hard work and dedication in the field.

Distinguished Scholar: The purpose of this award is to recognize a member of the RAWC for their scholarly contributions to the advancement of intercollegiate athletics, campus recreation, and/or wellness. Candidates must be a current member in good standing of ACPA and the RAWC and register to attend the ACPA National Convention. Individuals may self-nominate for the award or be nominated by another member of the RAWC. In addition to the online nomination form, a current resume or CV and brief summary of their work (not to exceed 2 double-spaced pages) should be submitted for review. The award recipient will be asked to provide an edited version of their work for publication in the RAWC newsletter prior to the convention.

  • Previous Awardees:
    • 2014 - Scott Hirko, Assistant Professor, Central Michigan University
    • 2012 - Lawrence Mrozek, Assistant Professor, University of Central Arkansas
    • 2013 - Kristina Navarro, Assistant Professor, University of Oklahoma

Outstanding Contribution: The purpose of this award is to honor a member of the community for their contributions and commitment to student learning and development in campus recreation, intercollegiate athletics, and/or wellness. Nominees do not have to be members of ACPA or the RAWC for consideration.

  • Previous Awardees:
    • 2020 - Liana Natochy, Alcohol and Other Drugs Education Coordinator, University Health Center, University of Georgia
    • 2018 - James Archibald, Associate Professor, Valdosta State University
    • 2014 - Stacy Hall, Director of Campus Recreation, University of New Hampshire
    • 2013 - Jennifer Hoffman, Asssistant Professor, Center for Leadership in Athletics, University of Washington
    • 2012 - Jim Pignataro, Associate Athletic Director, Michigan State University

Graduate Student/New Professional Travel Award: The purpose of this award is to assist a new professional with the cost of attending the ACPA National Convention while supporting them in the engagement of the activities of our Commission. The recipient of this grant will receive a $150 stipend to help off-set the costs of their convention registration fees, hotel accommodations, or travel expenses. To be eligible for the grant, applicants must be a current member in good standing of ACPA and RAWC. Applicants must have no more than 4 years of post-collegiate professional experience in intercollegiate athletics, campus recreation, and/or wellness, excluding part-time employment or graduate assistantships.

  • ​​Previous Awardees:
    • 2018 - Catherine Thompson, University of Louisville
    • 2014 - Molly McInerney, Undergraduate Student, University of West Georgia
    • 2013 - Casey Stark, Graduate Student, Bowling Green State University
    • 2012 - Melanie Warren, Graduate Student, Canisius College

If you have any questions about entity awards, please contact our Vice Chair of Awards and Elections at [email protected].